# Minutes of the 11<sup>th</sup> International Oat Committee Business Meeting- Perth, Australia 2022

- Business Meeting opened Thursday, 13 October 2022 at 16.30.
- ♣ Apologies (in person): Nick Tinker, Kathy Klos, Alf Ceplitis, Ziya Dumlupinar, Sohbat Bahraminejad, Julio Isidro y Sanchez, Peter Hozlár, Nezha Saidi, Hanna Haikka, Andreas Katsiotis, Susanne Vogelgsang, Igor Loskutov, Edyta Paczos-Grzeda

# Item 1: Chair welcome and opening remarks- Catherine Howarth

- ♣ The meeting was opened. Grains Industry Western Australia (GIWA) and organizing committees were acknowledged and thanked.
- ♣ Noted that Kathy Klos the current secretary was unable to attend, so Pamela Zwer volunteered to take notes for the meeting.
- ♣ A comment about voting was made by the Chair: all attendees at the business meeting are invited to vote on any motion.
- A hard copy of the agenda was placed on each table. Pamela Zwer made a motion to approve the agenda and it was seconded by Nanna Bjarnholt.

# Item 2: Minutes of the last meeting at the 10th IOC, St. Petersburg, Russia

- Handouts of the 2016 Minutes from St. Petersburg were placed on each table.
- ♣ A call for additions or revisions was made. A motion was seconded and a vote approved the minutes.

## Item 3: Update of IOC Committee representatives and distinctions

♣ Note: Voting on items outside of the physical IOC conference (between conferences) is done by a single elected representative from each actively participating country, collectively with the executive, this will form the International Oat Committee.

## Part A: New committee representatives

- ♣ Invite participating countries with no current representative to nominate one. A nomination by a participating country will be automatically accepted unless there are multiple nominees with no consensus among the country's delegates in attendance. In this case the full IOC business meeting will vote to select the representative.
- Karina Baer was elected as the representative for Chile and Hrannar Hilmarsson was elected for Iceland.

## Part B: New committee members replacing resigned representatives

- Confirmed replacements
  - ✓ Australia: Allan Rattey replaces Pamela Zwer
  - ✓ Brazil: Marcelo Teixeira Pacheco replaces Luiz Federizzi (marpac@ufrgs.br)
  - ✓ Canada: Wubishet (Wubi) Bekele replaces Nick Tinker

- ✓ Finland: Hanna Haikka replaces Elina Kiviharju (hanna.haikka@boreal.fi)
- ✓ Ireland: to be discussed due to Julio Isidro Sanchez moving to Spain
- ✓ New Zealand: John Stevens replaces Keith Armstrong
- ✓ Norway: Espen Sannes Sørensen replaces Trond Buraas
- ✓ USA: Melanie Caffe replaces Mike McMullen
- Additional vacancies or inactive members to be replaced or removed.
  - ✓ Chex Republic: no response from Vlastimil Chour—contact Petra
    Cepkova to identify if a replacement is required
  - ✓ Japan: vacant since Toshinobu Morikawa retired
  - √ Kazakhstan: no response

Part C: Continuing members still stand from the 11<sup>th</sup> IOC meeting unless we hear otherwise.

- Continuing members
  - ✓ Argentina, Liliana Wehrhahne
  - ✓ Austria, Elisabeth Zechner
  - ✓ China, Ren Changzhong
  - ✓ Germany, Steffen Beuch
  - ✓ Greece/Cyprus, Andreas Katsiotis
  - ✓ Iran, Sohbat Bahraminejad
  - ✓ Morocco, Nezha Saidi
  - ✓ Poland, Edyta Paczos-Grzeda
  - ✓ Russia, Igor Loskutov
  - ✓ Slovakia, Peter Hozlar,
  - ✓ Spain, Elena Prats
  - ✓ Sweden, Alf Ceplitis
  - ✓ Switzerland, Susanne Vogelgsang
  - ✓ Tunisia, Mohamed Chakroun
  - ✓ Turkey, Ziya Dumlupinar
  - ✓ UK, Catherine Howarth

#### Part D: Distinctions

- Retired members who have been active in IOC
  - ✓ Asmund Bjornstad
  - ✓ Bruce Roskens
  - ✓ Christian Azar
  - ✓ David Marshall
  - ✓ George Fedak
  - ✓ Howard Rines
  - ✓ José Costa
  - ✓ Judith Frégeau-Reid
  - ✓ Jennifer Mitchell Fetch
  - ✓ Keith Armstrong
  - ✓ Mike Bonman
  - ✓ Mike McMullen

- ✓ Pamela Zwer
- ✓ Peter McCormack
- ✓ Shea Miller
- ✓ Trond Buraas

## Part E: Recognition of oat workers who have passed away

- ✓ Vern Burrows
- ✓ Charlie Brown
- ✓ Marty Carson
- ✓ Herb Ohm
- ✓ Harold Marshall
- ✓ Darrell Wesenberg

# Item 4: Venue and dates for the 12th IOC meeting in 2026

- Presentations were made by Selma Schurack for Germany and Karina Baer for Chile. Presentations will be circulated.
- Country representatives should consult with their colleagues to determine the vote.

# Item 5: Report from the 11th local organizing committee

- Peter Nash, Chief Executive for Grains Industry Western Australia (GIWA) summarized the challenges facing the local organizing committee.
  - ✓ The committee was pleased with number of in person delegates. Due
    to COVID the numbers were much less than anticipated when the
    conference was first planned in 2016.
  - ✓ Due to COVID, conferences are now offered for both in person and virtual increasing the cost of running the conference.
  - ✓ Sponsorship was excellent and without the support of the sponsors the conference would not have been possible.
  - ✓ The financial situation of the conference won't be known for a few months. However, \$10,000 A will be contributed to the next conference.
  - ✓ The local organizing committee also provided \$5000 to assist graduates and post docs with conference costs.

#### Item 6: Election of IOC Chair

- Nominations for chair was Steffen Beuch (proposed by Pamela Zwer and seconded by (unrecorded)). Vote accepted.
- Nominations for secretary was Charlene Wight (proposed by Catherine Howarth and seconded by Pamela Zwer). Vote accepted.

#### Item 7: Other business

- American Oat Workers meeting will be held in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada in 2024 (contact Aaron Beattie)
- 2nd Food Oats Conference in Sweden, 2023

♣ Crop Diva Conference, Ghent, 2023

Motion to close the meeting.